Northern Territory nominees announced for 60th anniversary of the Australian of the Year Awards

Posted 21 October 2019 9:00am

They are among 16 Territorians in the running to be named the territory’s Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year as the nation celebrates the 60th anniversary of the awards.

The 2020 Northern Territory award nominees are:

2020 Northern Territory Australian of the Year

  • Jasmine Cavanagh – Community activist (Alice Springs)
  • Dianne Gipey – CEO Women’s Safety Services of Central Australia (Alice Springs)
  • Professor Leonard Notaras – Founder, National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre (Darwin)
  • Dr Geoffrey Thompson – Sports physician and ex-RAAF flying doctor (Darwin)

2020 Northern Territory Senior Australian of the Year

  • Emeritus Professor MaryAnn Bin-Sallik AO – Academic (Darwin)
  • Norman Cramp – Historian and volunteer (Darwin)
  • Sydney Kinsman – Veteran, ex-prisoner of war and local show member (Alice Springs) 
  • Banduk Marika AO – Artist, cultural activist and environmental adviser (North East Arnhem Land)

2020 Northern Territory Young Australian of the Year

  • Rikki Bruce – Engineer (Darwin)
  • Mitchell Ford – Mental health ambassador (Katherine)
  • Dylan River – Aboriginal filmmaker (Alice Springs)
  • Gutingarra Yunupingu – Aboriginal filmmaker (Yirrkala)

2020 Northern Territory Local Hero

  • Shirleen Campbell – Family and domestic violence activist (Alice Springs)
  • Timmy Duggan – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander men’s health advocate (Darwin)
  • Helen Summers – Blindness prevention advocate (Darwin)
  • Lesley Taylor – Child protection advocate (Yulara)

The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

The four award recipients from the Northern Territory will be announced on Thursday 31 October 2019 at the Alice Springs Convention Centre in Alice Springs.

They will then join the other state and territory recipients for the national awards ceremony at the National Arboretum in Canberra on 25 January 2020.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the Northern Territory nominees were all using their skills and experiences to educate, inspire or bring about change.

“This is a particularly special time to be nominated as we’re celebrating six decades of the awards,” said Ms Brand.

“The 2020 Northern Territory nominees are all taking leadership roles – in community, in culture, or sharing stories which foster understanding.”

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit

Media contact: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762 or