Queensland nominees announced for 60th anniversary of the Australian of the Year Awards

Posted 7 November 2019 3:21pm

The nominees for the 2020 Queensland Australian of the Year Awards include a travelling greengrocer, cancer researcher, pub choir leader, world-class tennis player and veterinary researcher.

They are among 16 people from Queensland in the running to be named the state’s Local Hero, Young Australian, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year as the nation celebrates the 60th anniversary of the awards.

The 2020 Queensland award nominees are:

2020 QLD Australian of the Year

  • Clive Berghofer AM – Philanthropist (Wilsonton)
  • Dr David Cartwright – Neonatologist (The Gap)
  • Rachel Downie – Educator and social entrepreneur (Buderim)
  • Monty Boori Pryor – Story keeper, writer, multi-talented performer (Carlton)

2020 QLD Senior Australian of the Year

  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus Judith Clements AC – Cancer researcher (Woolloongabba)
  • Peter Dornan AM – Men’s health activist (Toowong)
  • Professor Ian Lowe AO – Environmental scientist (Marcoola)
  • Dr Peter Reid – Equine veterinary surgeon and researcher (Carseldine)

2020 QLD Young Australian of the Year

  • Ashleigh Barty – Professional tennis player (Springfield)
  • Mark Halupka – Radio show host (Coopers Plains)
  • Astrid Jorgensen – Pub Choir founder (Lutwyche)
  • Luke Yokota – Men’s nursing advocate (Carina Heights)

2020 QLD Local Hero

  • Adjunct Assistant Professor Nick Marshall – Founder, Albatross Nippers (Mermaid Waters)
  • Fari Rameshfar – Travelling greengrocer (Tolga)
  • Tiffany Spary – Homelessness activist and social enterprise founder (East Toowoomba)
  • Craig Tobin – Swimmer, coach, mentor (Mackenzie)

The nominees are among 128 people being recognised across all states and territories as part of the program, which began in 1960.

The four award recipients from Queensland will be announced on the evening of Monday 11 November 2019 at a ceremony at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre.

They will then join the other state and territory recipients for the national awards ceremony at the National Arboretum in Canberra on 25 January 2020.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the Queensland nominees were leaders in their fields and in the community.

“The 60th anniversary of the Australian of the Year Awards is a particularly special time to be nominated,” said Ms Brand.

“The 2020 Queensland nominees represent the incredible diversity of Queenslanders and their contribution to our nation and our communities.”


Media contact: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762 or nicole@mediaopps.com.au